The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever

SPOILERS ALERT!

Title: The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever (Bevelstoke # 1)

Author: Julia Quinn

Rating: ★★★★★

Review:

I have reread this book a lot of times because it doesn’t get old. I love it every time I read it. The first 3/4 of the book was all bittersweet because of Miranda’s unrequited love. The last quarter of the book is filled with cheesy stuff for the hopeless romantic. Let me start with the main characters first.

Miranda Cheever is the heroine of the novel. She has brown hair, brown eyes, and full lips. She is witty and intelligent. She has unrequited love for Turner ever since she was ten years old.

Nigel Bevelstoke, Viscount Turner is the hero of the novel. He has blond hair and blue eyes. He used to be a cheerful fellow, but after being cuckolded into marrying Leticia, he changed dramatically to a hateful man.

Olivia Bevelstoke is Miranda’s best friend and little sister to Turner. She was matchamking Miranda to his twin brother, Winston. She was the first to find out about Miranda’s pregnancy.

Winston Bevelstoke is Olivia’s twin brother. He was infatuated with Miranda, but it didn’t continue because Miranda and Turner got married in Scotland.

I enjoyed the whole book and I would give it 5 stars, easy. The conversation between Turner and Miranda are all humorous. There was an essence of bittersweetness because of all the pain Miranda had to go through just because she loved Turner so much. Although, the last part was a tad too cheesy. If you don’t appreciate those kind of things, you could just skip ahead. It starts when Miranda is in her supposed deathbed after giving birth to Caroline, their first daughter. I’m a hopeless romantic so that wasn’t quite an issue for me.

My only issue with the book was how long Turner realized he loved Miranda. I mean, was it that hard to realize you love someone? I understand the inner conflict because of what Leticia had done to him, but I must say, it isn’t hard to say ‘I love you’ to someone when one is really in love. Maybe he didn’t realize it at first, but the attention and care he gave Miranda was enough evidence of his feelings.

All in all, I would recommend the book. It’s worth the read.

xoxo, Mrs. Cruz ❤

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

